The Government published the new Urban Renewal Strategy (“URS”) in February 2011, following an extensive public consultation exercise that had lasted for more than two years. The new URS calls for active promotion of the adoption of a “People First, District-based, Public Participatory” approach at the urban renewal planning stage, and embraces the new proposal of setting up a District Urban Renewal Forum (“DURF”) in old urban districts to strengthen urban renewal planning at the district level.


In coming up with holistic and integrated urban renewal initiatives, DURF will discharge the following functions:

To ensure that urban renewal is undertaken in a more systematic way with regard to local characteristics and aspirations and community interests at large, each DURF will be chaired by a professional familiar with urban renewal issues and its members will be drawn from a wide cross-section in the local community including District Council/Area Committee Members, representatives from established non-governmental organizations/groups/ business associations in the district, and representatives of relevant government bureaux/departments and the Urban Renewal Authority (“URA”), etc. The Planning Department will provide secretariat and professional support to DURF.


In June 2011, the Government has established the first pilot DURF in Kowloon City, which has a large number of dilapidated buildings but involves only a few URA redevelopment projects. The Kowloon City DURF will provide pioneering experiences that would help enhance the Government’s urban renewal initiatives and planning, and review the effectiveness of such initiatives in future.

經過兩年多的廣泛公眾諮詢,政府於​​2011年2月公佈新的《市區重建策略》。在新的策略下,政府積極推動在市區更新的規劃階段實踐「以人為先,地區為本,與民共議」的工作方針。 新的《市區重建策略》提出嶄新的建議,在舊區設立「市區更新地區諮詢平台」﹙下稱「諮詢平台」﹚,以加強地區層面市區更新的規劃。


在制訂全面及綜合的市區更新工作時,諮詢平台會執行以下的職能:



為確保市區更新能更有系統地按當區特色和反映區內人士的意願和整體社會利益而進行,每個諮詢平台的主席會由熟悉市區更新事宜的專業人士擔任,其他委員則來自不同專業界別及區內各階層包括當區區議員/分區委員會委員、區內具規模的非政府組織/團體/商會及有關政府政策局/部門及市區重建局的代表等。 「諮詢平台」由規劃署提供秘書處服務及專業規劃支援。


政府於2011年6月在九龍城成立首個試點諮詢平台。原因是該區有不少失修的樓宇,而市區重建局在該區進行的重建項目為數不多。九龍城市區更新地區諮詢平台作為一個先導者所取得的經驗,將有助政府在日後完善新的市區更新工作與規劃及檢討有關工作的成效。